Brad Allen Williams – œconomy (2023)

Brad Allen Williams - œconomy (2023)
Artist: Brad Allen Williams
Album: œconomy
Label: Colorfield Records
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01 – prelude to an artifice (0:18)
02 – an artifice (4:46)
03 – inner life (4:17)
04 – pæan (5:08)
05 – boomer (4:12)
06 – tecnologia (4:27)
07 – scape (4:17)
08 – her sidebar (yield) (3:23)
09 – œconomy (3:32)
10 – halcyon (2:23)


On œconomy, Brad Allen Williams finds new creative potential in the guitar and explores the interstices between (and intersections of) jazz, neoclassical, and experimental music.

Perhaps the most intoxicating element of œconomy: recontextualization of the artist’s primary instrument manifests not as academic exercise, but as artistic springboard. It’s one thing to subvert tropes for novelty, but the grinding psychedelia of “Boomer” and restrained touches that accompany the fugue-like beauty of “Scape” serve excellent songwriting.

Like all Colorfield releases, œconomy was born from an improvisatory spirit that reflects the label’s mission. Expert performances by The Section Quartet and a few virtuosic cameos by drummer Mark Guiliana represent the only instruments not played by Williams himself.

Rate this post
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *