Candy Dulfer – We Never Stop (2022)

Candy Dulfer - We Never Stop (2022)
Artist: Candy Dulfer
Album: We Never Stop
Label: The Funk Garage
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. YeahYeahYeah (5:17)
2. Mo’ Seats (6:24)
3. Jammin’ Tonight (4:08)
4. Deeper (6:01)
5. Say Something (5:00)
6. Raindrops (6:31)
7. We Never Stop (5:41)
8. The Walls (6:00)
9. Perspective (3:59)
10. Since I Found U (5:57)
11. Afraid For More (5:30)
12. No Time For This (7:09)
13. The Climb (6:57)
14. Convergency (4:55)


Finally, a new full-length Candy Dulfer album called ‘We Never Stop, A party platter of stanky jams, silken R&B, jazz, and pop-funk, ‘We Never Stop’ features several guest appearances by Chic guitarist, producer, songwriter, and three-time GRAMMY Award-winner Nile Rodgers. Take a listen to the first single “Jammin’ Tonight (feat. Nile Rodgers),” a bold injection of party pop-funk with a slick jazz overlay that recalls Rodgers’ 1970s “Good Times” finery.

Give the people an invigorating beat, some swanky sax uplift, and watch the pain melt away. That’s the funky stuff Prince’s former top-choice sax player Candy Dulfer and her band specialize in. A solo artist, a songwriter, and in-demand instrumentalist, Dulfer has worked with some of the biggest names in modern music, including Van Morrison, Maceo Parker, Sheila E., Mavis Staples, Lionel Richie, Beyoncé, Pink Floyd, Chaka Khan, and Aretha Franklin, among many others.

Now, after three decades of superstar collaborations and world tours, and chart-topping and high-selling solo career releases, Candy is living proof of the title of her latest album, ‘We Never Stop.’ Nothing gets in the way of her making funky stuff. ‘We Never Stop’ features vocals from Candy’s rainbow family of a band with lyrics informed by band dialogues and the culture and health crises of the past two years. These include the toll of the pandemic on the music communities and the race horrors that have galvanized a global Black Lives Matter movement.

“This is a personal album—I struggle with the fact that so many people in this world are hurting on so many levels,” Candy shares. “The main spirit of this music is to elevate. It feels like it’s never been more important to take a stand and not let the hurt and the pain defeat us. That’s why I called this album, ‘We Never Stop.’”

Dulfer first rose to fame with her high-profile collaboration with Dave Stewart on the worldwide number 1 smash “Lily Was Here.” Her tenure with Prince may be best remembered by his tongue-in-cheek recommendation in the “Partyman” video:. Their collaboration continued over the years with many studio sessions, TV show appearances, award show performances, including the Grammy Awards, and concert tours around the globe, including Candy joining Prince’s NPG band as a permanent member for his record-shattering Musicology tour and album.

In addition to her superstar collaborations, Candy is a serious lifelong musician with a robust history as a solo artist releasing albums and touring the world for over 35 years. Since her Grammy-nominated debut, 1990’s Saxuality, Candy has issued 12 albums. The combined world-wide sales of her solo albums top 2.5 million copies, and she has had several number 1 hits in the USA. In between her solo albums and her high-profile collaborations, Candy still manages to join Dutch female supergroup the Ladies of Soul for their annual sold-out concerts at the massive Amsterdam Ziggo Dome; she is an ambassador for the Dutch ALS Foundation; and Candy was a judge on the Dutch version of X Factor.

At the age of 4, Candy’s destiny unfolded before her eyes, watching jazz heavyweight saxophonist Sonny Rollins. Her father, Hans Dulfer, brought her to the show. Hans is a well-known Dutch jazz saxophonist who, when Candy was growing up, surrounded himself with legends such as Archie Shepp, Dexter Gordon, and guitarist John McLaughlin. Candy began playing sax at the age of 6, and started her own band Funky Stuff at the age of 13.

Today, her determination and passion remain, but her motivations are different. “These days, I play music to, hopefully, inspire younger people. When I was 12, I didn’t have many female saxophonists to look up to, and I want to be that person for the next generation of musicians,” she says.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *