Elmer Snowden Quartet – Harlem Banjo! (1960/1990)

Elmer Snowden Quartet - Harlem Banjo! (1960)
Artist: Elmer Snowden Quartet
Album: Harlem Banjo!
Label: OJC
Year Of Release: 1960/1990
Format: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
01. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing) (2:47)
02. Doin’ The New Lowdown (3:33)
03. Runnin’ Wild (3:30)
04. Diga Diga Doo (2:26)
05. Them There Eyes (2:54)
06. Tishomingo Blues (4:13)
07. C-Jam Blues (2:59)
08. Sweet Georgia Brown (3:24)
09. Alabamy Bound (2:10)
10. Twelfth Street Rag (3:38)
11. Bugle Call Rag (4:00)
12. Dear Old Southland (2:43)


Elmer Snowden – Banjo
Cliff Jackson – Piano
Tommy Bryant – Bass
Jimmy Crawford – Drums

Banjoist Elmer Snowden only led two albums in the LP era, and his OJC CD reissue is his best showcase. Snowden, who is joined by pianist Cliff Jackson, bassist Tommy Bryant, and drummer Jimmy Crawford, is the lead voice throughout the dozen standards, all of which date from the 1920s or ’30s. Snowden’s banjo style is a lost art, and this is his definitive recording.~Scott Yanow

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *