Gabriele Mirabassi and Enrico Zanisi – Chamber Songs (2019)

Gabriele Mirabassi and Enrico Zanisi - Chamber Songs (2019)
Artist: Gabriele Mirabassi and Enrico Zanisi
Album: Chamber Songs
Label: Cam Jazz
Year Of Release: 2019
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01 – Auf Einer Burg (6:27)
02 – Du Ring An Meinem Finger (3:26)
03 – Seit Ich Ihn Gesehen (5:38)
04 – Beautiful Lies (7:11)
05 – Cantilena Sulla Sonata In Re Minore L423 di Domenico Scarlatti (7:01)
06 – Besame Mucho (3:37)
07 – Inconcludente (5:16)
08 – So In Love – Ich Grolle Nicht (6:51)
09 – Cantabile (5:38)


In his short life, Robert Schumann wrote some of the most beautiful melodies in the whole European canon. Art, they seem to tell us, is the white lie, the beautiful lie, that covers up the pain of the world. Though that might also be a definition of the blues, many jazz and improvising musicians have preferred to leave Schumann unexplored, perhaps feeling that his songs are best left to specialists and preserved exactly as they were. Not so clarinettist Gabriele Mirabassi and pianist Enrico Zanisi. On Chamber Songs, recorded in the beautiful Tonutti Winery in Adegliacco – Tavagnacco, Italy, they have taken four Schumann melodies, plus original material, and given highly personalised readings of them. Informed by jazz practice, but still faithful to the originals, these glowing performances add another chapter to an enriching new genre in which improvising musicians, instead of relying on Broadway or pop material, return to the classical literature for inspiration. Chamber Songs is the latest in CAM JAZZ’s series of live recordings at Italian wineries. Wine is just another of the beautiful lies that allow us to live a little more easily in the world. Robert Schumann would have approved, both of the setting and of how his music is presented by Mirabassi and Zanisi. (Brian Morton)

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *