Jon Balke, Siwan – Hafla (2022)

Jon Balke - Siwan - Hafla (2022)
Artist: Jon Balke, Siwan
Album: Hafla
Label: ECM Records
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
1. Tarraquab (5:48)
2. Enamorado de Júpiter (3:04)
3. Mirada Furtiva (3:08)
4. La Estrella Fugaz (4:08)
5. Arrihu Aqwadu Ma Yakunu Li-Annaha (2:37)
6. Diálogo en la Noche (5:15)
7. Línea oscura (3:42)
8. Saeta (2:41)
9. Uquállibu (4:39)
10. Wadadtu (4:39)
11. Visita (3:14)
12. Is there no way (2:34)


Jon Balke – Keyboards, Electronics, Tombak
Mona Boutchebak – Vocals, Quitra
Derya Turkan – Kemençe
Bjarte Eike – Baroque Violin
Helge Norbakken – Percussion
Pedram Khavar Zamini – Tombak
Per Buhre – Vocals, Viola

Siwan, the transcultural, trans-idiomatic musical collective led by Norwegian keyboardist/composer Jon Balke, continues along its special path, with new music inspired by the creative spirit of Al-Andalus. The ensemble weaves lines of communication between musicians from multiple traditions and locations. Among the texts set by Balke on Siwan’s third album and persuasively sung by Algerian vocalist Mona Boutchebak are verses by Ummayad princess Wallada bint al-Mustakfi (1010-1091) and contemporaries including Ibn Zaydun (1003-1071) and Ibn Sara As-Santarini (1043-1123). Hafla was recorded in May and June 2021 at Village Recording Studios, in Copenhagen.

5/5 - (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *