Medicine Singers – Medicine Singers (2022)

Medicine Singers - Medicine Singers (2022)
Artist: Medicine Singers
Album: Medicine Singers
Label: Joyful Noise Recordings
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. A Cry (02:02)
02. Daybreak (02:30)
03. Hawk Song (02:04)
04. Sanctuary (05:48)
05. My Brother (01:00)
06. Shootingstar Press (00:48)
07. Sunrise (Rumble) (03:28)
08. Shapeshifter (03:55)
09. Sunset (06:18)
10. Reprise of a Cry (02:09)


With their debut, Medicine Singers have bridged multiple dimensions of sound while expanding into a remarkable supergroup that includes Thor Harris and Christopher Pravdica of Swans, ambient music pioneer Laraaji, “no wave” icon and former DNA drummer Ikue Mori, and trumpet player Jaimie Branch, a rising star in the world of improvised music. Medicine Singers created a spellbinding musical experience, cycling through a kaleidoscope of sounds, from psychedelic punk to spiritual jazz and electronic music. But the genre-smashing album remains firmly rooted in the intense physical power of the powwow drum and the Eastern Medicine Singers’ connection to their ancestral music, creating a daring and ambitious record that celebrates tradition, while boldly breaking away from its restrictions, or in the words of Medicine Singers’ leader Daryl Black Eagle Jamieson: “These two cultures can work together, and blend together. We created something that needs to be out there in the world, to show people how we can work together and make something beautiful.”

Rate this post
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *