Sebastian Rochford – A Short Diary (2023)

Sebastian Rochford - A Short Diary (2023)
Artist: Sebastian Rochford
Album: A Short Diary
Label: ECM Records
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. This Tune Your Ears Will Never Hear (3:52)
2. Communal Decisions (1:57)
3. Night Of Quiet (4:56)
4. Love You Grampa (6:15)
5. Our Time Is Still (3:32)
6. Silver Light (4:56)
7. Ten Of Us (7:08)
8. Even Now I Think of Her (4:14)


Sebastian Rochford: drums
Kit Downes: piano

This “short diary (of loss)” as drummer Sebastian Rochford calls it is offered as “a sonic memory, created with love, out of need for comfort”.

The album is dedicated to Rochford’s father, Aberdeen poet Gerard Rochford (1932-2019) and to his family. Seb, one of ten siblings, wrote most of the music for this album shortly after Gerard’s death and delivers it here, in performances of deep feeling and hymn-like clarity, together with pianist Kit Downes. The final wistful piece, “Even Now I Think Of Her” was composed by Gerard Rochford. Sebastian explains: “It’s a tune my dad had sung into his phone and sent me. I forwarded this to Kit’s phone. He listened, and then we started.”

The poignancy of A Short Diary will touch many listeners.

5/5 - (1 vote)
Visited 4 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *