Sinti Featuring Jimmy Rosenberg – Sinti (1996)

Sinti Featuring Jimmy Rosenberg - Sinti (1996)
Artist: Sinti Featuring Jimmy Rosenberg
Album: Sinti
Label: Columbia
Year Of Release: 1996
Format: FLAC (image+.cue)
01. Going To The USA [0:01:56.70]
02. Que Pasa [0:03:31.47]
03. Dark Eyes (Ojos Negros) [0:02:32.15]
04. The Flintstones [0:02:28.23]
05. Hi, Pat [0:02:02.72]
06. Isn’t She Lovely [0:02:40.40]
07. For Wesley [0:02:27.08]
08. Blues For Ike [0:03:32.20]
09. Patchiena [0:02:35.60]
10. My Emotion [0:02:32.65]
11. Chez Moi [0:01:50.57]
12. On My Mind [0:03:22.33]
13. For Hans [0:02:29.20]
14. Fricha [0:03:02.37]
15. Limehouse Blues [0:04:18.63]
16. Caravan [0:02:40.37]
17. Dina [0:01:53.25]


Jimmy Rosenberg is an absolutely incredible guitar player. Well-steeped in the gypsy jazz tradition best known to the world through the playing of the legendary Django Reinhardt, Rosenberg plays not only to the same demanding technical level as his hero, but also with a remarkably sophisticated sense of swing, timing, humor, and style. His accomplishments are especially impressive considering that at the time of this recording Rosenberg was 14 years old. As astonishing as he is, one must be sure not to fail to mention the other terrifically talented members of Sinti: rhythm guitarist (and cousin to Jimmy) Johnny Rosenberg and bassist Rinus Steinbach. To hear why these two young men are not to be underappreciated, take, for example, the band’s reading of “The Flintstones.” After a laid-back trip through the melody, the rhythm team of Johnny Rosenberg and Steinbach kicks into overdrive, doubling or trebling the tempo but never losing the colossal groove that they maintain throughout the song and throughout this album. Respect being paid, there is a reason why this record is subtitled “Featuring Jimmy Rosenberg,” and it is the ease with which this youngster seems to have absorbed the technical intricacies of this demanding style of playing that will likely stick with the listener most. His facility with the instrument is simply jaw-dropping, but it is made even stronger by his risk-taking improvisations and his sheer sense of style. This is an extremely auspicious debut from a group of three young musicians who seem to be having as much fun making this music as fans will likely have listening to it. A promising sign of things to come.
review by Daniel Gioffre

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *