Chase Shelleé – High on Maybe (2016)

Chase Shelleé - High on Maybe (2016)
Artist: Chase Shelleé
Album: High on Maybe
Year Of Release: 2016
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. I See Red
02. Better Stay In
03. Lights On
04. Tents Are Gone
05. It’s Not That
06. High on Maybe
07. Candyman
08. Prison Songs
09. Meri
10. Silver
11. Back on Sunday
12. Carnival


There is a story here with characters we either are or have been, or have yet to become. On the way, it is not hope itself but the muddied, uneven, and slightly hidden path leading to it that becomes closest to us. This first album deals greatly with the past, but at its very center suggests a possibility of taking back whatever power or light was either taken from us or we so foolishly, or naively, gave away.

“Meri” is dedicated to my friend Meri Williams, whose light was extinguished far too early. It is written out of respect for her and out of empathy for what she battled. “High On Maybe” is dedicated to my mother, whose fiery compassion and fearless love have literally saved my life. Each song is an intimate friend, but I know you will find your own stories in them, or yourself, use them how you will. I have found the path to hope to be a difficult one, always looking down to see what is going to stub your toe or catch your ankle, and going on can weary even the most hardened of us. May these songs, these stories, nudge you further down that path, may you find exactly where you are and realize it is alright, and keep going at whatever pace your heart beats to. Maybe, just maybe, we’ll get there.

Rate this post
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *