Dutch Mason – You Can’t Have Everything (1992)

Dutch Mason - You Can't Have Everything (1992)
Artist: Dutch Mason
Album: You Can’t Have Everything
Label: Stony Plain Records
Year Of Release: 1992
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. You Can’t Have Everything
02. Going, Going, Gone
03. I Must Be Crazy
04. Folsom Prison Blues
05. Hock My Ring
06. Sticks And Stones
07. But I Was Too Cool
08. Hallelujah, I Love Her So
09. Blues In The Dark
10. No Mo Do Yakomo
11. Polk Salad Annie


Dutch (b Norman) Mason. Singer, guitarist, pianist, b Lunenburg, NS, 19 Feb 1938, d Truro, NS, 23 Dec 2006. Raised in Kentville, NS, he played several instruments during his youth, including drums in a jazz band. The earliest of his own groups, which worked around Nova Scotia during the mid-1950s, were in a rock ‘n’ roll or ‘rockabilly’ style. Mason, a singer, pianist and guitarist, was introduced to the blues via recordings of B.B. King, who would remain an important influence. Mason performed in Toronto as early as 1959, but based his career in Nova Scotia. During the 1970s he performed in a succession of blues bands in a variety of bars such as Sullivan’s in Halifax and the Wyse Owl in Dartmouth. He tirelessly toured Canada as part of the Dutch Mason Trio with musicians such as bassist Ronnie Miller and drummer Ken Clattenburg, building an audience for the blues and earning the nickname “Prime Minister of the Blues.”

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *