Asja Valcic & Raphael Preuschl – Velvet (2022)

Asja Valcic & Raphael Preuschl - Velvet (2022)
Artist: Asja Valcic & Raphael Preuschl
Album: Velvet
Label: Session Work Records
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Timeless (03:43)
2. Madness (04:34)
3. Câlins (04:07)
4. Telepathy (03:12)
5. Desir (04:37)
6. Souvenir (04:24)
7. Parfum (02:52)
8. Balance (03:41)
9. Strength (03:21)
10. Joy (03:45)
11. Vision (02:21)
12. Trance (02:20)


Velvet, the aptly named upcoming debut album of the newly founded duo of cellist Asja Valcic and bassist Raphael Preuschl sets out to lure its listeners into a world of low rich sounds. It presents a string of compositions for cello and bass ukulele in which both musicians explore the warm earthy tones of their instruments in an interplay of improvisations and beautifully woven melodies and grooves. At times soft and intimate, at times passionate and virtuosic, they master the right balance between form and expression. The duo’s appeal goes beyond the curiosity shop character of their instrument set-up; it is the result of two mature musicians at a point in their careers where the musical message is at the forefront and core of their artistry, and an absolute delightful one at that!

Rate this post
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *