Christoph Irniger Pilgrim – Ghost Cat (2023)

Christoph Irniger Pilgrim - Ghost Cat (2023)
Artist: Christoph Irniger Pilgrim
Album: Ghost Cat
Label: Intakt Records
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Marvel (5:19)
2. Seven Down Eight Up (9:05)
3. Ghost Cat (5:48)
4. Calling the Spirits (12:05)
5. Four States of Mind (5:19)
6. Walking with Dinosaurs (5:33)


Christoph Irniger: Tenor Saxophone
Stefan Aeby: Piano
Dave Gisler: Guitar
Raffaele Bossard: Bass
Michael Stulz: Drums

The quintet of Zurich tenor saxophonist Christoph Irniger presents its fifth album on Intakt Records on the occasion of the band’s 10th anniversary. Over the years, the band has created a distinct ensemble identity and has matured into one of the most exciting ensembles of young European jazz. As a well-rehearsed unit, the band on Ghost Cat fulfills all the expectations that are nowadays placed on modern and innovative jazz based on an internal band democracy. “There is both clarity and maturity in the improvisational process plus a greater awareness of what each other is doing – at both an interpersonal level and how everyone fits into the overall architecture of the performance. Each player clearly understands the material at hand and constructs their improvisation around the mood of the composition and the collective endeavour, rather than launching out on their own personal muse”, writes Stuart Nicholson in the liner notes.

5/5 - (1 vote)
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *