Manfredo Fest – Jungle Cat (1989)

Manfredo Fest - Jungle Cat (2022)
Artist: Manfredo Fest
Album: Jungle Cat
Label: DMP
Year Of Release: 1989
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Dig This Samba (04:04)
2. O Morro (04:49)
3. Bossa Blues No. 2 (05:42)
4. Jungle Cat (07:01)
5. Bridges (03:49)
6. No More Blues (05:28)
7. Stella by Starlight (06:13)
8. Clearwater Sunset (04:58)
9. Cooling Off (04:55)
10. Slaughter on Tenth Avenue (07:06)
11. Hermeto (07:54)


This CD has an energetic set of Brazilian-flavored jazz. Manfredo Fest mostly sticks to acoustic piano, occasionally switching to electric keyboards for color, and balancing the program almost evenly between standards and originals. To his credit, Fest (who uses a four-piece rhythm section) does not let the Brazilian aspects of the music detract from the jazz, which is quite boppish and harmonically sophisticated. Trumpeter Claudio Roditi’s cameo appearances are also a plus on this enjoyable set.
review by Scott Yanow

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *