Jim Shearer & Charlie Wood – The Memphis Hang (2008)

Jim Shearer & Charlie Wood - The Memphis Hang (2008)
Artist: Jim Shearer & Charlie Wood
Album: The Memphis Hang
Label: Summit Records
Year Of Release: 2008
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Well, You Needn’t (3:57)
2. Seduced (5:16)
3. Mound Bayou (5:50)
4. That Note Costs A Dollar (4:21)
5. Can’t Take You Nowhere (3:04)
6. Secret Love (6:32)
7. Not When I’ve Been Drinkin’ (4:55)
8. Blue Turning Gray Over You (5:19)
9. The Memphis Hang (5:08)
10. Goodbye Porkpie Hat (6:30)
11. Cool (6:15)


The pairing of organist Charlie Wood and tuba player Jim Shearer makes for some quirkily charming music on this eclectic outing. Shearer’s agile tuba work is showcased on a Latin-tinged “Secret Love,” a swinging rendition of Thelonious Monk’s “Well, You Needn’t” and the bluesy, shuffling title track. Wood, who doubles on barrelhouse piano, also contributes some affecting vocals on Fats Waller’s “Blue Turning Gray Over You,” Dave Frishberg’s jivey “Can’t Take You Nowhere” and Leonard Bernstein’s “Cool.”

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *