Joe Lovano – Celebrating Sinatra (1997)

Joe Lovano - Celebrating Sinatra (1997)
Artist: Joe Lovano
Album: Celebrating Sinatra
Label: Blue Note
Year Of Release: 1997
Format: FLAC ((image+.cue)
01. I’ll Never Smile Again
02. Chicago
03. I’m a Fool to Want You
04. Imagination
05. I’ve Got the World on a String
06. All the Way
07. South of the Border
08. In Other Words
09. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
10. This Love of Mine
11. Someone to Watch over Me
12. One for My Baby
13. The Song Is You


Joe Lovano – Tenor Saxophone
Manny Albam – Orchestrations
Ted Nash – Tenor Sax and Clarinet
Dick Oatts – Tenor Sax, Flute, Flageolet
John Clark – French Horn
Judi Silvano – Vocal
Billy Drewes – Bass Clarinet and Soprano Sax
Kenny Werner – Piano
George Mraz – Bass
Al Foster – Drums
Fifteen piece ensemble
Erik Friedlander – Cello (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12)
Mark Feldman – Violin (tracks: 1, 6, 8, 12)

Although this project may not seem to have much potential at first glance, tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano’s tribute to Frank Sinatra is consistently brilliant and inventive. Since Sinatra recorded countless songs, Lovano had plenty to choose from, and he came up with 13 superior standards. Rather than just play the tunes in conventional swing fashion, Lovano is featured in quite a few different settings, caressing and bending the melodies a la Sonny Rollins. “Chicago” is taken as a duet with drummer Al Foster, eight songs have Judi Silvano’s haunting voice mostly singing wordlessly as part of the ensemble, Manny Albam orchestrated eight songs (some of which use woodwinds and a few strings), and other key players include pianist Kenny Werner, bassist George Mraz and Billy Drewes on soprano sax and bass clarinet. No matter how familiar the song (including “I’ll Never Smile Again,” “I’ve Got the World on a String,” a rollicking “South of the Border” and “One For My Baby”), each performance has plenty of surprising moments. A real gem.
Scott Yanow

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *