Mike Moreno – Standards from Film (2022)

Mike Moreno - Standards from Film (2022)
Artist: Mike Moreno
Album: Standards from Film
Label: Criss Cross Jazz
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Beautiful Love (2:31)
2. You Stepped out of a Dream (5:30)
3. There Will Never Be Another You (6:55)
4. Stella by Starlight (6:40)
5. Laura (8:17)
6. I Fall in Love Too Easily (7:32)
7. On Green Dolphin Street (7:01)
8. My Foolish Heart (4:17)
9. Invitation (8:07)
10. Days of Wine and Roses (9:44)


ike a well – wrought character in a Hollywood movie, Standards From Film, guitarist Mike Moreno’s fourth Criss Cross album, exists atop a solid, cogent back story. Recorded in December 2021, when the world and New York City – Houston-born Moreno’s home for more than two decades – were no longer on COVID lockdown, it documents the leader’s exhaustive investigations into the provenance of ten iconic standards that, as he puts it, “are the summer jazz workshop tunes” – they say you have to learn these songs if you want to be a jazz musician. You learn them very young or in the beginning days of your journey into this music.

The album was recorded December 22, 2021 at the Samurai Hotel Recording Studio in NY. Recording engineer Mike Marciano also did the editing, mixing and mastering at Systems Two in NY.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *