Ralph Bowen – Power Play (2011)

Ralph Bowen - Power Play (2011)
Artist: Ralph Bowen
Album: Power Play
Label: Posi-Tone Records
Year Of Release: 2011
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. K.D.’s Blues (04:40)
2. Drumheller Valley (06:19)
3. Two Line Pass (05:05)
4. My One and Only Love (05:27)
5. The Good Shepherd (06:26)
6. Bella Firenze (08:22)
7. Jessica (06:28)
8. Walleye Jigging (05:31)
9. A Solar Romance (06:31)


Ralph Bowen – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone 2, soprano saxophone 7 & 9
Orrin Evans – piano
Kenny Davis – bass
Donald Edwards – drums

Saxophonist Ralph Bowen brings forward a full complement of tour de force performances on his 2011 release “Power Play.” Highlighted by a strong program of new compositions by Bowen, the album also features powerful showings by the stellar pianist Orrin Evans, the solid bassist Kenny Davis and the ever exciting drummer Donald Edwards, all of whom work seamlessly together to keep the session in the pocket. Most of all, Bowen shoots and scores with his effortless mastery and melodic brilliance on his saxophone, and “Power Play” is a hard hitting collection of performances that will certainly entertain jazz enthusiasts again and again with amazement and delight.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *