Tammy Payne – Viva Outsider (2014)

Tammy Payne - Viva Outsider (2014)
Artist: Tammy Payne
Album: Viva Outsider
Label: Ninety and Nine Records
Year Of Release: 2014
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. Talk to Me Instead
02. Viva Outsider
03. Some People
04. Territorial Din
05. Black Eyed Lucy
06. Singing Peaches Regalia
07. She
08. Lipstick Kiss
09. All Hands to Butter Go
10. Raise a Glass


After releasing a couple of dance hits on Gilles Peterson’s now iconic label Talkin Loud, notably “Take Me Now”, Tammy took a U turn. Instead of making the album fans expected, she took time out to play percussion in salsa bands, travelled to Brazil to learn samba songs and released eclectic music under various guises.

This period saw her sing and write with Sissi, Bristol sound originators Smith And Mighty,Boca 45 and Jukes, as well as touring as the drummer for John Parish ( long time producer of PJ Harvey).

Tammy then released “We Might Disappear” with her new band Jukes. Produced by Jim Barr ( Portishead, Get The Blessing ), it was a foray into the New York Bleecker Street of her mind, a folksy and sometimes psychedelic vehicle in which to exploreher relationship with time, nature and fate.

The label Triumphant Sound went bankrupt on its release, resulting in zero publicity for this undiscovered gem. But it’s critical acclaim included an 8/10 from the NME, describing it “A solar eclipse of LSD sound”.

Continuing her musical zig-zagging, she then released a classic rock / folk covers album on jazz label Edition Records with the band Tamco. The combined jazz pedigree of the band – drummer Dylan Howe ( The Blockheads ),bassist Jim Barr (Get The Blessing ), Dan Moore on keyboards ( Pee Wee Ellis, Andy Shepherd ) and Neil Smith ( The Liftmen ), gave a free flowing improvisational direction that packed a swarthy rhythm and blues punch. This was the perfect foil for Tammy’s haunting reinterpretation of the lyrics of Dylan, Cohen and Elvis Costello, etc.
After being hard to keep track of over the years with her various band names, Tammy has returned to herself and recorded a new album as Tammy Payne.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *