The Roger Kellaway Trio – The Roger Kellaway Trio (1965/1997)

The Roger Kellaway Trio - The Roger Kellaway Trio (1965/1997)
Artist: The Roger Kellaway Trio
Album: The Roger Kellaway Trio
Label: Prestige, OJC
Year Of Release: 1965/1997
Format: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
1. Organ Morgan
2. One Night Stand
3. I’ll Follow The Sun
4. Brats
5. Can’t You See It
6. Sweet And Lovely
7. Sigma O.N.
8. Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
9. No More
10. The Fall Of Love


Roger Kellaway – piano
Russell George – bass
Dave Bailey – drums

Other than a long-forgotten date for the Regina label in 1963, this set (reissued in 1997 on CD) was pianist Roger Kellaway’s debut as a leader. Teamed with bassist Russell George and drummer Dave Bailey, the 26-year-old shows off impressive technique, a swinging style, and the willingness to experiment on such tunes as “Brats,” which uses a prepared piano, and the polyrhythmic “Signa: O.N.” Other than the Beatles’ “I’ll Follow the Sun,” “Sweet and Lovely” and “Ballad of the Sad Young Men,” the material is obscure (including originals by Kellaway and his wife Patte Hale), but the songs suit his style well. A frequently intriguing early set by the talented pianist.~Scott Yanow

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *