Bai Kamara Jr & The Voodoo Sniffers – Traveling Medicine Man (2023)

Bai Kamara Jr & The Voodoo Sniffers - Traveling Medicine Man (2023)
Artist: Bai Kamara Jr & The Voodoo Sniffers
Album: Traveling Medicine Man
Label: Moosicus
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Shake It, Shake It, Shake It (2:37)
2. Surrounded (3:28)
3. Good, Good Man (3:57)
4. If You Go (4:02)
5. Miranda Blue (4:31)
6. Money Ain’t Everything (3:54)
7. Enemies (4:14)
8. Star Angel (5:15)
9. Mister President (3:12)
10. I Don’t Roll With Snakes (4:02)
11. I’m A Grown Man (3:37)
12. It Ain’t Easy (5:44)
13. If I Could Walk On Water (3:50)
14. Lover, Oh Lover (2:43)
15. Hard Work (3:08)
16. Bridges You Burn (3:17)


Three years after the release of his critically acclaimed album “Salone”, Bai Kamara Jr returns with “Traveling Medicine Man”, a 13-track collection of blues songs portrayed in Bai’s unique style. In a descriptive, provocative and sometimes suggestive way, the tales of love, life, relationships, politics and innuendo are meticulously explored by the raconteur.”Traveling Medicine Man is the continuation of my introspective journey through my roots and my perpetual quest to make my two homes, Africa and Europe, coexist within me. The title was inspired by my maternal grandfather Tinka Tanner Kargbo, born in 1901 in the Northern Province of Sierra Leone. He was educated by the Wesleyan Missionaries and later traveled with them across the country to help provide medical care to villagers and townspeople. I was fortunate enough to have spent some time with my grandfather when I was still a child, and one of the things that fascinated me the most about him was his ability to reconcile his Christian beliefs with his traditional African beliefs and customs.” (Bai Kamara Jr)For the making of this album Bai brought his touring band, The Voodoo Sniffers, into the studio; these exceptional musicians contributed to Bai’s unique and evolving sound. With a percussive nature at the heart of the arrangements this rootsy blues is spiced up with an afro vibe, making you want to get up and dance more often than not. May your listening experience be soothing and pleasurable with a healing effect.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *