Dr. Helander & Third Ward – Shining Pearls (2023)

Dr. Helander & Third Ward - Shining Pearls (2023)
Artist: Dr. Helander & Third Ward
Album: Shining Pearls
Label: Bluelight Records
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. I Don’t Wanna Wake Up From My Dream (3:17)
2. Unwanted Person (5:00)
3. War Is Starting Again (4:20)
4. 61 Highway (4:41)
5. Cemetery Wall (3:01)
6. Your Old School (5:05)
7. Shining Pearls (3:43)
8. Bridge To Freedom (4:06)
9. You Don’t Care (2:53)
10. Rollercoaster Riding (2:55)


Dr. Helander – guitar, vocals
Esa Kuloniemi – bass, guitar, vocals
Mooses Kuloniemi – drums
Mikko Vuorela – bass

Finnish blues power trio Dr. Helander & Third Ward have progressed to their third album, Shining Pearls, which will of course play the main role in Malmitalo’s album release concert.

Like the band’s previous Bluelight Records recordings Meat Grindin’ Business (2018) and Traffic Jam on the Back Street (2020), which has been playing since 2017, the new album also consists almost exclusively of original material and a couple of current loans.

Around the same time, the band’s frontman Dr. Ilkka Helander celebrates even decades – the musical think tank between Delta (Kurikka) in Southern Poznan and Delta (Clarksdale) in Mississippi has already been fueled by him on a time scale of 70 years! Thus, we will also hear a lot of accumulated material along the way.

4/5 - (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *