Sharon Lewis – Grown Ass Woman (2016)

Sharon Lewis - Grown Ass Woman (2016)
Artist: Sharon Lewis
Album: Grown Ass Woman
Label: Delmark
Year Of Release: 2016
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. Can’t Do It Like We Do
02. Hell Yeah!
03. Chicago Woman
04. They’re Lying
05. Don’t Try to Judge Me
06. Old Man’s Baby
07. Grown Ass Woman
08. Walk with Me
09. Freedom
10. Call Home
11. Home Free Blues
12. High Road
13. Why I Sing the Blues
14. Soul Shine


Sharon Lewis unleashes another extraordinary Delmark album; Grown Ass Woman features 12 new original songs with special guest appearances by Sugar Blue and Joanna Connor. In a review of her first Delmark album Rosalind Cummings-Yeates said ‘The Real Deal’ (DMK 816) qualifies as one of the best blues albums of the year’ – Illinois Entertainer, December 2011. The new album kicks off with ‘Can’t Do It Like We Do’ a tribute to the current Chicago Blues sound and scene. ‘Hell Yeah!’ is a total party jam, there’s plenty of soul like ‘They’re Lying’ and ‘Call Home’, and ‘Freedom’ is a timely song which points out that ‘freedom cannot be freedom until freedom means freedom for everyone!’

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *