David Dyson – Soulmates (2000)

David Dyson - Soulmates (2000)
Artist: David Dyson
Album: Soulmates
Label: Marimelj
Year Of Release: 2000
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Badlands 4:33
2. 95 North 4:17
3. Soulmates 4:48
4. Way Back When 4:37
5. Interference 5:27
6. Secret Sands 5:39
7. Spin Cycle 3:42
8. Time Will Heal 3:45
9. Vixen 5:16
10. Aftermath 4:53
11. Lena’s Lullaby 4:43
12. Lonely Daze 2:25


David Dyson – bass, keyboards, drums, programming, sampler
John Stoddart – vocals
Marshall Keys, Skip Pruitt – saxophone
Vince Evans – piano
Fred Pena – synthesizer

Electric bassist David Dyson has made his mark as a sideman with Me’Shell NdegéOcello, Pieces of a Dream, and the band (which also included Bob Belden) featured on Tim Hagans’ Animation – Imagination. On his solo debut, Dyson handles just about everything by himself, including bass, keyboards, drum programming, sampling, and assorted spoken word vocal spots. There are a couple of guest keyboardists and saxophonists, and John Stoddart sings well on “Spin Cycle.” But Dyson’s bass is the dominant presence, deployed often via overdubs as a melody and chording instrument. His tracks lean heavily toward funk, R&B, and dance beats, and this, together with the electric bass emphasis, makes Dyson’s music somewhat similar to Marcus Miller’s. Jazz listeners might find it a bit commercial overall, although Dyson crafts some edgy harmonic progressions, hard grooves, and intelligent songs. He and co-engineer/pianist Vince Evans also know their way around studio gear — the recording is rich and of very high quality. Dyson’s unaccompanied statement, “Lonely Daze,” is an ideal closing gesture.
David R. Adler

Rate this post
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *