Emmet Cohen – Uptown in Orbit (2022)

Emmet Cohen - Uptown in Orbit (2022)
Artist: Emmet Cohen
Album: Uptown in Orbit
Label: Mack Avenue Records
Year Of Release: 2022
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Finger Buster (4:11)
2. Uptown in Orbit (8:13)
3. My Love Will Come Again (5:37)
4. Spillin’ the Tea (7:06)
5. Li’l Darlin’ (7:13)
6. The Loneliest (5:24)
7. Uptown in Orbit (Reprise) (1:20)
8. Distant Hallow (7:19)
9. Mosaic (3:47)
10. Venus de Milo (3:04)
11. Braggin’ in Brass (3:43)


Emmet Cohen — piano (all tracks)
Russell Hall — acoustic bass (all tracks)
Kyle Poole — drums (all tracks)
Patrick Bartley — alto sax (2, 3, 6, 7, 8)
Sean Jones — trumpet (2, 3, 6, 7, 8)

Emmet Cohen’s time has come, since his debut Mack Avenue release, ‘Future Stride’, Cohen has toured the world consistently ” bringing the joy of music to people in need during a global pandemic” all while hosting weekly livestream concerts from his home in Harlem, NY.

These livestreams provided a sense of community and a home to the displaced musicians of New York, reminiscent of the 1920s rent parties. On ‘Uptown in Orbit’, his sophomore release for Mack Avenue, Cohen brings the tradition of jazz to the forefront while providing the modern twist needed for the current times. Featured on this release is trumpeter/educator Sean Jones, saxophonist Patrick Bartley, bassist Russell Hall and drummer Kyle Poole.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *