Pedro Ricardo – Soprem Bons Ventos (2023)

Pedro Ricardo - Soprem Bons Ventos (2023)
Artist: Pedro Ricardo
Album: Soprem Bons Ventos
Genre: Jazz
Label: Soundway Records Ltd
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01 – Soprem Bons Ventos (9:58)
02 – Tema 1 (0:44)
03 – Déhéba (3:58)
04 – Ode ao Gato (2:49)
05 – Entre o Vale e o Eco (2:27)
06 – Tema 2 (2:12)
07 – A Marcha Que o Monte Parou (5:45)
08 – Cantar das Kandakinhas (2:05)
09 – Tema 3 (1:28)
10 – A Marcha Que o Monte Parou (Radio Edit) (4:31)


Debut album from the Portuguese multi-instrumentalist, producer and DJ. A nostalgic yet timeless piece that lovingly fuses jazz, electronic, and traditional Portuguese folk.

“The album translates to ‘Good Winds Blow’, shares Ricardo. “This idea of good winds blowing is intertwined with the feeling of missing something, and sadness. On a positive note, there is still an overarching sense that happiness also lies ahead. Soprem Bons Ventos represents an ode to the past, to those who came before me, connecting with my present and imagining the future.”

Stylistically, Ricardo became entranced with jazz from an early age, while also becoming enamoured with folk music – rooted in his Portugal childhood, now encompassing sounds from Cape Verde, Brazil, and Spain along the way. He intertwines these instrumental influences with field recordings, and electronics, on Soprem Bons Ventos.

The album is a journey that encompasses nostalgia, love, longing, and togetherness, tenderly intertwined throughout with vibrant percussion, whispers of vocals, soaring keys, and delicate guitars.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *