Sarah Manning – Harmonious Creature (2014)

Sarah Manning - Harmonious Creature (2014)
Artist: Sarah Manning
Album: Harmonious Creature
Label: Posi-Tone Records
Year Of Release: 2014
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Copland On Cornelia Street (05:55)
2. Tune Of Cats (04:52)
3. Floating Bridge (03:10)
4. I Dream A Highway (04:45)
5. Gray Dawn, Red Fox (05:55)
6. Radish Spirit (06:44)
7. Three Chords For Jessica (08:27)
8. Don’t Answer To The Question (05:52)
9. On The Beach (07:23)
10. What The Blues Left Behind (05:45)


Sarah Manning – alto saxophone
Eyvind Kang – viola
Jonathan Goldberger – guitar
Rene Hart – bass
Jerome Jennings – drums

Saxophonist Sarah Manning keeps exploring new paths with the 2014 release of “Harmonious Creature.” This engaging musical program features Manning’s brilliant original compositions presented by an amazing group of players, including the celebrated violist Eyvind Kang, bassist Rene Hart, guitarist Jonathan Goldberger, and the ever bombastic Jerome Jennings on drums. Critical listeners will agree that Manning’s compositions and performances both clearly demonstrate both her command of the saxophone and her functional mastery of the jazz idiom. Featuring a delicate balance of modernity and non-traditional aesthetics, the music of Sarah Manning’s “Harmonious Creature” remains insightfully straight ahead, steadily swinging, refreshingly melodic, and is certain to evoke a wide assortment of bright moments in the ears of discerning jazz fans everywhere.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *