Charlie Parker – Verve Jazz Masters 15 (1994)

Charlie Parker - Verve Jazz Masters 15 (1994)
Artist: Charlie Parker
Album: Verve Jazz Masters 15
Label: Verve Records
Year Of Release: 1994
Format: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
1 Confirmation 3:02
2 An Oscar For Treadwell 3:26
3 Dancing In The Dark 3:23
4 Segment 3:23
5 Star Eyes 3:31
6 Mango Mangue 2:56
7 Repetition 2:59
8 The Bird 4:48
9 K. C. Blues 3:28
10 My Melancholy Baby 3:26
11 Blues For Alice 2:50
12 I Can’t Get Started 9:18
13 Kim 3:01
14 Just Friends 3:34
15 She Rote 3:09
16 Lover Man 3:21


For those who haven’t yet invested in Definitive’s excellent four-CD set Charlie Parker: The Complete Norman Granz Master Takes, Verve Jazz Masters 15 may serve as a useful sampler containing some of this master improviser’s best performances recorded between January 1946 and July 1953. In addition to Jazz at the Philharmonic jams (“I Can’t Get Started” clocks in at over nine minutes), collaborations with orchestras led by Machito, Joe Lippman, Jimmy Carroll, and Neal Hefti, Bird is heard in the company of the best modern jazzmen of the day. By virtue of the excellent material compiled herein, this potent package rates as one of the best entries in Verve’s Jazz Masters series.
Review by arwulf arwulf

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *