Mandrill – Just Outside Of Town (1973)

Mandrill - Just Outside Of Town (1973)
Artist: Mandrill
Album: Just Outside Of Town
Label: Polydor
Year Of Release: 1973
Format: FLAC (tracks)
01. Mango Meat
02. Never Die
03. Love Song
04. Interlude
05. Fat City Strut
06. Two Sisters Of Mystery
07. Afrikus Retrospectus
08. She Ain’t Lookin’ Too Tough
09. Aspiration Flame


It lacked the delicious hooks and tight funk of Composite Truth, but Just Outside of Town was as solid and confident a piece of music-making as the band ever accomplished. The single “Mango Meat” is a tough Latin funk number with some inspired group harmonizing, and Mandrill stretched out with a pair of love songs, “Never Die” and the aptly titled “Love Song,” the latter beginning with a few minutes of atmospheric bliss that boasted unrealized cinematic/soundtrack possibilities. “Fat City Strut” moves back and forth between blasts of brass-powered funk and the sweet seduction of Latin percussion and a vibes solo. The distorted funk monster “Two Sisters of Mystery” is another classic, one that later enticed producer Gary G-Wiz to sample it for Public Enemy’s “By the Time I Get to Arizona.” The last two songs were very uncharacteristic for Mandrill, one a bluesy/country song with a pop gloss, the other an ambling instrumental led by an acoustic guitar and including a few out-of-place synthesizer shadings. It certainly wasn’t Mandrill going out on top (for an album, or for its period at Polydor), but it certainly summed up the promise of one of funk’s most courageous bands.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *