Sean Nowell – The Kung-Fu Masters (2013)

Sean Nowell - The Kung-Fu Masters (2013)
Artist: Sean Nowell
Album: The Kung-Fu Masters
Label: Posi-Tone Records
Year Of Release: 2013
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Crosstown Traffic (04:17)
2. In the Shikshteesh (05:46)
3. For All Intensive Purposes (04:29)
4. Mantis Style (04:35)
5. The Outside World (04:21)
6. Prosperity (04:47)
7. The 55th Chamber (03:08)
8. Uncrumplable (06:27)
9. Song of the Southland (07:40)
10. Can Do Man (07:50)


Sean Nowell – tenor sax
Brad Mason – trumpet
Michael Dease – trombone
Art Hirahara – keyboards
Adam Klipple – organ & keyboards
Evan Marien – bass
Marko Djordjevic – drums

Saxophonist Sean Nowell breaks through with a full complement of tour-de-force performances on “The Kung-Fu Masters.” Pushing the boundaries of the genre from straight ahead into the realm of Jazztronica, the record is highlighted by a strong program of Nowell’s compositions and arrangements. With an extremely able crew of exciting side musicians–with powerful frontline showings by Brad Mason and Michael Dease and the stellar keyboardisms of Art Hirahara and Adam Klipple, alongside the steady rhythms of wunderkind bassist Evan Marien and explosive drummer Marko Djordjevic– the impetus and inspiration of the music remains clear when Sean Nowell kicks up his chops and swings hard with effortless mastery and melodic brilliance on his saxophone! The album is a poignant and focused collection of performances that will certainly entertain jazz geeks and music enthusiasts with energetic amazement and melodic delight.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *