The Cash Box Kings – Oscar’s Motel (2023)

The Cash Box Kings - Oscar's Motel (2023)
Artist: The Cash Box Kings
Album: Oscar’s Motel
Genre: Blues
Label: Alligator Records
Year Of Release: 2023
Format: FLAC (tracks)
1. Oscar’s Motel (2:47)
2. Down On The South Side (3:41)
3. Please Have Mercy (4:00)
4. I Can’t Stand You (4:20)
5. Hot Little Mess (3:29)
6. Nobody Called It The Blues (3:34)
7. Pontiac Blues (1:57)
8. Trying So Hard (5:18)
9. She Dropped The Axe On Me (3:43)
10. I Want What Chaz Has (3:43)
11. Ride Santa Ride (3:18)


The Cash Box Kings keep real-deal Chicago blues alive and kicking with smart, contemporary songwriting, tough vocals, world-class harmonica and razor-sharp guitar. Living Blues magazine has called them “One of the best blues bands in the land.”

The Cash Box Kings have played major festivals all over the world, including the Chicago Blues Festival (over 10 times), the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival, the Cambridge Folk Festival (UK), the Moulin Blues Festival (Netherlands), the Lucerne Blues Festival (Switzerland), the Hondarribia Blues Festival (Spain), BluesBaltica (Germany), Rock Around The Atomium (Brussels) and the Edmonton Blues Festival (Canada).

‘Oscar’s Motel’ was recorded in Chicago and features nine new original Cash Box Kings songs updating the classic juke-joint sound for the modern day. The band also breathes new life into Muddy Waters’ “Please Have Mercy” and Sonny Boy Williamson’s “Pontiac Blues.” Chicago blues diva Deitra Farr and Memphis blues great John Nemeth guest.

5/5 - (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *